RSS

I got my hands on an iPad today

06 Apr

I finally got my hands on an iPad today I know I’m a bit behind. It was ok. It is pretty much a big ipod touch but it isn’t lame like you would think. The bigness just makes it easy to use. It seems like it would be really good for reading books on and maybe watching short videos. I think it would be a nice to keep near the couch or bed so you can grab it and get online without having to lug around a laptop.

I have to say the typing was better than I thought it was going to be. It is impossible to type on the ipod because you hit 6 keys at once but the size of the ipad means you don’t have that problem. I couldn’t hold the thing and type with my thumbs though. That would have been nice. I would be cool to see something like what Sony did on the vaio ux’s (or one of its predecessors I can’t remember) onscreen keyboard. (sorry I couldn’t find pictures, but the basic thing you need to know is that it put the keys in a radial arangement in the lower corners so you could type with your thumbs)

simply scaling up the ipod touch probably has other UI problem too. I’m also still not happy about the lack of a USB port but I can get over that. Apparently it can’t print even though Apple made appleworks for it… The only reason I would ever buy one is for content reasons. Unfortunately I don’t think Android is going to be as successful at getting content provides to work with them. I would probably still go with Android just because of the openness (and I don’t mean the platform but on the usability and developer level).

if the iPad were $100-$200 cheaper I would be much more willing to accept its faults.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 6, 2010 in apple

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
