RSS

A Backup Script Mark 2

11 Feb

You may remember a while ago I posted about a backup script I wrote. I have put some work into it and improved it quite a bit. Here are some of the more important changes I made.

I realized that saying that it did incremental backups was not completely true. What it was doing was snapshots so I changes all of the terminology to snapshot instead of incremental.

Last time I mentioned that snapshots take a very long times. Well, I fixed that, kind of. Before the script was set to compress the tar files it generated which took hours if they were large. To illustrate this problem this problem I have some numbers. I ran a backup using the same exact 21.87GBs of data one compressed with bzip and one not. Using bzip the backup took 7h52m; without bzip the backup took 23m51s. That is 94.9% faster. All that time is for only a 1.26GBs (6.12% savings) of space saved. So I changed it so compression is not default anymore, though it is still an option. depending on the size and composition of your files to be backed up compression may still be worth using. Now I said I kind of fixed it because after I took those statistics I made the script hash the backup files so that when you can ensure that your backups are good. This takes some times, but no where near as much as compression. If you are a Mac OS X user you will have to install md5sum using macports or fink or whatever you want for this to work. Apple sucks and they can’t include this so you will have to install it yourself(if you already have macports you probably already have md5sum).

I added a option to restore from a snapshot (I believe the last version only supported restores from the normal backup).

You may have noticed a bug while using -v where if all you used was -v nothing would happen. Its fixed.

I added a paranoia mode that uses srm instead of rm. I hope that I can add more to this in the future. Encryption is still a problem.

I changed the configuration so that multiple users could be added. This part makes me with I hadn’t written this is bash. I hate the way it works and I can’t get anything better as I am pushing up against the barriers of the language (or my understanding of it?). check out the readme and /etc/backup/main.conf for more an this. Note that the install script will replace your current config file with a standard one(useless one) so make sure to save yours before you install.

If you want to look at all of the the changes take a look at the todo file.

Before I forget like last time it I need to link to this. So Here it is. I’m not sure how but this one is actually 2kb smaller than the last version(it is 30kb by the way).

I don’t know if I will continue to work on this or not. I am still using it even on leopard because I don’t know if I want to trust time machine. However there are some really great backup utilities out there so I may want to use one of those.

Just as last time if you have any suggestion, comments, or bug fixes you can leave them in the comments or email me.

Oh before I forget I’v been trying to think of a name for this (I’ve just been calling it backup so far). If you have any ideas I would love to hear them.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 11, 2008 in backup, bash

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
