RSS

I’m tired of hearing about how you switched to Ubuntu.

06 Jan

Edit: A lot of people seem to think that I am saying no one should ever use Ubuntu; I’m not. I’m saying that people who use Ubuntu and think they are l33t and people who can’t stop bragging Ubuntu being better than windows and people annoy me.  Though what this is mostly about and is inspired by is that probably 70%-80% of the article for linux on digg are about Ubuntu and ignore that other distros even exists.

I’m tired of hearing about how you switched to Ubuntu. Don’t the people of digg land have more to do than post every blog they can find about some guy switching to Ubuntu? Every time I look at my RSS reader I am met with dozens of stories on digg about some guy discovering that Ubuntu being the long lost son of god and now he wants to teach you how to use wine and do something the “Ubuntu way!”

I have one thing to say to all of you who do this: Stop bragging to Linux users about how great Ubuntu is! Ubuntu is not all that great! If you really  want to use linux use a distro like Fedora or Gentoo and not some crippled thing! ok so that was three things.

Ubuntu is fine for somethings but I’m tired of hearing about it.

 
23 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2008 in linux, ubuntu

 

Tags: , ,

23 responses to “I’m tired of hearing about how you switched to Ubuntu.

  1. munkii

    January 6, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    s/I’m tired of hearing about it./I can’t think of one!/

     
  2. drem

    January 6, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    Ubuntu is great because it is easy to do things with it. I use Fedora (Ubuntu doesn’t fit my needs at this moment) but I recommended Ubuntu (or openSUSE) to every windows user that wanted to try Linux. You see a lot of stories like that because a lot of people are making the move. I am happy with that and I think they have the right to use linux. For them trying Fedora might be so frustrating that they’ll draw the conclusion that linux sucks (as there are a lot of people that are not as enthusiastic like some of us to “learn” linux in order to make it work, but just want to learn how to work with it)

     
  3. Custangro

    January 6, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    Amen…

     
  4. Justin

    January 6, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    I’m not saying people shouldn’t use Ubuntu I’m saying I tired of noobs yelling “lol dudez I gots teh linux!!!!!!!!!!!!111!!!!one! omgwtfbbq” all over my internets. If they want to post blogs about it even that is okay I just don’t see why every single one of them has to be submitted to digg.

     
  5. The Chosen One

    January 6, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    Amen, Ubuntu it’s a second rate Debian, at best.

    A point and click distribution for those who can’t work with Gentoo, Lunar, Arch, Slackware, Debian, Fedora, ect…

    And I just installed a copy (Kubuntu 7.10) on a Linux newbies machine today. The intended user couldn’t install themself. I suggested Debian, but the “Microsoft Certified” administrator wanted Ubuntu.

     
  6. Not_a_fanboi

    January 7, 2008 at 12:42 am

    “You see a lot of stories like that because a lot of people are making the move.”

    The more stories like that I see, the more I think that it is one pathetic fanboi blogs away using 100 different names.

     
  7. Dule

    January 7, 2008 at 4:25 am

    I prefer openSUSE cuz it’s just most beautiful with fresh install..

     
  8. Catalin Stan

    January 7, 2008 at 5:32 am

    i completely agree, man, this Ubuntu all over the internet bizniz is starting to get on my nerves. Especially since, starting with Fedora7, Fedora has really become user friendly. But that’s just me.

     
  9. advertboy

    January 7, 2008 at 5:33 am

    Mate i completely agree with you. They are such a loud and voistrous group. Well said!

     
  10. Lennart Regebro

    January 7, 2008 at 5:46 am

    “Ubuntu is not all that great!”

    Yes it is. Admittedly I haven’t used Gentoo, maybe it’s great too. But Ubuntu beats all the distros I *have* used, including Fedora and Debian.

    “A point and click distribution for those who can’t work with Gentoo, Lunar, Arch, Slackware, Debian, Fedora, ect…”

    Or for those of us who isn’t interested in spending days in configururing the computer, but actually see the computer as a tool that is supposed to help you get things done. Computing stopped being an end of itself to me fifteen years ago. Now I no longer “compute”. I *use* computers in my work (duh, I’m a programmer after all), and hence want them to be useable.

     
  11. ahbruto

    January 7, 2008 at 6:15 am

    Are you folks insane??
    PCLinuxOS, the so called Mandriva’s evil son, is the true way for newbies.
    I’d endorse Ubuntu (which is evidently ripping off Debian) only if my goal was to prevent anyone from switching to GNU/Linux.
    To be honest, i don’t even know what brand new ubuntu-specific features are added to each new release (eventually none).
    OpenSuse is another dead end, but for different reasons. Novell is behind it.

     
  12. xxx

    January 7, 2008 at 9:00 am

    ubuntu fanboys always act like everything ubuntu does is new and exciting and hasn’t been done before ever. When they write their “reviews” they put in bald-face lies about other distros to make ubuntu look better.
    Their “comparisons” are a joke & full of lies too, and ubuntu always wins, no matter what. All of the ubuntu howtos posted to Digg have been stolen from elsewhere. None of the ubuntu blogs have any original content.
    ubuntu fanboys cry and moan about how other people hate ubuntu because it’s popular. We don’t hate ubuntu because it’s popular, we hate it because of the fanboys. The way they act, their arrogance. Their “We use ubuntu, so we’re better than you” attitude.

     
  13. eldarion

    January 7, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    I completely agee with you. I heard so much about “how great is Ubuntu” that i am start hating Ubuntu. And i am not proud of this feeling. The fact is that Ubuntu is not that great. I use Arch, but for newbies Mandriva or Suse are the best. Just that. So why so many people are using Ubuntu? Because of the publicity.

    People install Ubuntu, some stuff don’t work and that they say that Linux sucks. I hate when that happens.

    That said, i have nothing against ubuntu developers, contributors, etc.. They are doing a great job, as well as the developers on other distros.

     
  14. Justin

    January 7, 2008 at 4:55 pm

     
  15. Not_a_fanboi

    January 7, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    Another common thing with all the Ubuntu fairy tells is the storyline. Usually it involves:
    1. A relative or an imaginary friend (sometimes even imaginary girlfriend).
    2. A Windows XP computer belonging to somebody from #1
    3. The blue screen of death on #2
    4. Flawless Ubuntu install on #2 after #3. Sometimes there are very minor problems, but those are not a big deal and are always solved very easily
    5. Ubuntu repositories have all the software one ever needs after #4
    The end.

    On the other hand, Ubuntu is a commercial distribution. It needs all the hype and attention it can get to score some deals.

     
  16. however

    July 22, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    I am sick of the fanboys too. However, I have been guilty of telling people how good Linux is for years…so I hope someday, most people will be using Linux at home, and bragging about this or that distro won’t be much of an issue then (maybe ; ) )

     
  17. Justin

    July 23, 2008 at 1:36 am

    I talk up Linux too (FEDORA!), but its not really being a fan that bothers me; its being a fan of something you don’t understand and never trying to understand it that bothers me.

    I don’t have a problem with Ubuntu itself. I would give it to my dad to use if he would let me install it on his computer. I just get annoyed when people use Ubuntu and then think they are l33t computer gods when they can’t even understand that Ubuntu really isn’t much different than most other linux distros and your tutorials will apply to most of them. Ubuntu fanboys are like windows fanboys screaming about how awesome the IE OS is.

     
  18. Vergil

    August 28, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    Thank you for saying that… and… I’m going to say that most of my machines run Ubuntu.

    I’m not a spring chicken mind you… I ran SLS (precursor to slackware) and first booted to 0.99pl12 kernel. I’ve spent a lot of years dicking around with linux.

    The fact that there’s a linux distro I could throw a disk to my Mom and go, “here, this will fix your computer” (her windows install always gets jacked) and I could be pretty sure it would work and she wouldn’t be overwhelmed… well that’s cool.

    What’s not cool is some jackwad going “OMG I R SO KEWL” when basically they ran an installer off a CD where the biggest hurdle is remembering that the eject button on the CD-ROM doesn’t work when the system is powered off.

    I appreciate that a lot of the commenters here have their favorite distro. If people didn’t have a favorite that was different from someone else’s there’d be one distro, end of story.

    So it’s really a purpose based thing. If I want something I don’t have to putz with, ubuntu. If I want to do media authoring, ubuntu studio (because the last thing I want to think about is the OS when I’m recording). When I’m setting up a server… CentOS. When I want to know what Redhat AS/ES are going to look like in a few years^H^H^H^H^Hmonths^H^H^H^H^Hwhenevers… I get a fedora disk. Usually these get thrown in VMs.

    If I want to go and review all the nitpicky details that go into making my OS work from the ground up, I’ll grab a gentoo disk.

    Anyhow, thanks for the cogent rant, and hope people see the point you were making.

     
  19. MIstergarrett

    April 16, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    I’m totaly new to linux. I used a little dos back in the day, but been on windows since 3.11. I got tired of bill gates throwing updates that just comprimise the security of my system. So I try Unbuntu. And I cant get it to do jack squat. No google vids no flash players no nothin, Half the crap they post on forums dont work. I feel like you have to been the one who wrote the program to get it to do anything, or at least be a software programmer. I’m sorry to say I’m starting to regret installing Ubuntu. Any suggestions on a distro for 100% complete newbies would be greatly greatly apprcieated.

     
  20. Justin

    April 16, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    hello Mistergarrett (if that is your real name) I liked your question I took time out of writing a boring paper for school to make a post out of the answer. Mkay?

     

Leave a Reply

 
