RSS

Concatenation: Encrypt /home, An Introduction to Wine, Some really cool bash tips

11 Dec

It’s time for yet another concatenation. I don’t feel like trying to get those title to actually look like links right now so just trust me if you put your mouse on them, not the first one though, it will turn blue.

Before I get into the concatenation I would like to inform all of you who read via rss that I set up a feedburner feed so while the wordpress feed will continue to work I would prefer it if everyone would switch over to the feedburner feed. Thanks.

CommandLine Warriors: Encrypt /home

I had planned to spend some time on figuring out how to encrypt partitions in linux and then write up a little how to but it seems that zeth beat me too it. I haven’t tried it yet but it looks like it is about what I was going to do.

I would like to stress the importance of encrypting your disk, specifically /home, but I’m lazy so I’ll let zeth do it for me.

You can’t always guarantee the physical security of mobile computers, indeed I myself had one stolen this year. However, on Linux, there is no need to leave yourself open to identity or data theft. Indeed if you are using Linux and you ended up at this blog post somehow, then you are highly likely to either work in IT or be otherwise highly technically competent. In other words, you have no excuse.

Encryption is easy to set-up, the approach I’ve outlined here does not require a reinstall, we are just going to swap out your home directory for an encrypted home partition. The simplest possible approach, but a big step forward in security for many of us.

I really doesn’t seem to be that hard. Do it or you may regret it later.
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4

wine-review:A quick introduction to Wine

wine-review:>wine-review:>Wine is a way to run windows programs on linux, for those you you who don’t know. Here is a quick explination of what Wine is that is a lot better than I could ever do.

Wine is a translation layer (a program loader) capable of running Windows applications on Linux and other POSIX compatible operating systems. Windows programs running in Wine act as native programs would, running without the performance or memory usage penalties of an emulator, with a similar look and feel to other applications on your desktop.

The Wine project started in 1993 as a way to support running Windows 3.1 programs on Linux. Bob Amstadt was the original coordinator, but turned it over fairly early on to Alexandre Julliard, who has run it ever since. Over the years, ports for other Unixes have been added, along with support for Win32 as Win32 applications became popular.

I for one have tried wine but never put much effort into it. I have a copy of KOTOR that I haven’t played in a while and I might see if I can get it to install.

This is just a quick introduction to Wine, the entire site is dedicated to wine, so it might be good to look at the rest of the site to really learn to use Wine.

Richards linux, web design and e-learning collection: Bash Tips and Tricks

This one blew me away. This is some really good stuff. Here was what he covers:

  1. Lost bash history. Which is losing history when you have multiple tabs open
  2. stupid spelling mistakes
  3. Duplicate entries in bash history
  4. Multi-line commands split up in history
  5. searching bash history
  6. moving to the previous directory

That last one may not seem all that amazing to you right now but it is actually really cool, unless you already know how to do it. Why mess with paths to get back where you were when you can do it with one character?

I really suggest you give this a read.

That’s all for now folks.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 11, 2007 in concatenation

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
